Oregon State University logo

Excellence, Inspiration, Passion, Creativity, Innovation

Faculty and staff are honored for their accomplishments

2010 College of Health and Human Sciences Awards

Excellence in Outreach Award – Jeanne Brandt
OSU Extension Faculty, Family and Community Health, Washington County

Presented in recognition of her success in furthering OSU Extension programs in gerontology, food safety and healthy communities and  for creating bilingual educational materials to promote healthy homes.





Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring Award – Chunhuei Chi
Associate Professor, Public Health

Presented in recognition of his passion, creativity and inspiration in teaching, his enthusiastic and unwavering commitment to student success and his dedication to growing the International Health Track Family in the MPH program.





Faculty Excellence Award – Sheryl Thorburn
Associate Professor, Public Health

Presented for her commitment to mentoring graduate students in research and professional development, for setting high standards for herself and her students in the classroom, for her pioneering research in discrimination in health care and for distinguished service to her profession.



Professional Faculty and Staff Excellence Award – Carey Hilbert
Assistant Head Advisor, Academic Advising

Presented for helping students shape and achieve their academic goals, for encouraging students to gain a global perspective through international programs, for giving first year students a great START to their OSU experience, and for treating each student with respect, care, and compassion.




Taking Care of Life Award – Pat Newport
Director, Marketing and Advancement

Presented in recognition her success in sharing the stories of our HHS alumni, faculty and students, for exemplifying the highest ethical and professional standards, and for her creativity and innovation in advancing the mission of the College.



2010 Oregon State University Awards

OSU Alumni Fellows Award – The Honorable Margaret Carter EdM ‘74

A tireless advocate for the Oregon’s most vulnerable, Margaret Carter was recognized for her 24-year political career in the Oregon legislature crafting legislation in education social justice, civil rights, health reform, mental health parity, environmental protection, public school funding and consumer education.  The first African-American woman elected to the Oregon legislature, Margaret promoted a permanent head Start program and the Oregon Youth Conservation Core. In 2009, she was name deputy director of the Oregon Department of Human Services.


Dar Reese Excellence in Advising Award – Sharon Rosenkoetter
Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Sciences

Dar Reese was well known for his thoughtful and caring advising of undergraduate students and his concern for undergraduate education, characteristics acknowledged in Sharon throughout her teaching, research and outreach activities.  Sharon coordinates and leads the college’s study abroad program at Fu Jen University in Taiwan, heads the Warm Springs Higher Education Program to prepare Head Start teachers.  She developed the Rural Links program to train teachers to work with young children with disabilities that has trained 49 teachers.


L.L. Stewart Faculty Scholar Award – Viktor Bovbjerg
Associate Professor, Public Health

This prestigious award recognizes one outstanding OSU faculty member each year and provides resources to support creativity and innovation and stimulate creative advancements in teaching, research, and extended education.  Viktor is initiating and implementing a statewide infrastructure for community health needs assessment, bringing together OSU scholars, OSU Extension faculty, Oregon Public Health Division, county health departments and local community members.  The project is a prototype for a statewide web-based, interactive, community health assessment database and public health practice research network.


OSU Promising Scholar Award – Emily Ho
Associate Professor, Nutrition and Exercise Sciences

This award recognizes the scholarship of junior faculty with a high level of accomplishment in a relatively short period of time at OSU. Emily is an internationally recognized expert in trace mineral nutrition, gene regulation and cancer prevention.  She has published landmark papers in the cancer field, garnered considerable grant funding, and is a sought after speaker.  She was the first to establish that a broccoli compound (sulforaphane) interferes with prostate cancer gene activation, leading to paradigm shift in our thinking about how cruciferous vegetables act as cancer chemopreventive agents.


OSU Award for Outstanding Service to Persons with Disabilities – Joanne Sorte
Director, OSU Child Development Laboratory

Joanne was recognized for her adept leadership in directing the college’s Child Development Laboratory in which more than 100 children ages 3-4 attend pre-school.  Diversity abounds – children from low-income families, English language learners, and 20% with recognized special developmental needs because of hearing and vision disabilities or health, mobility and /or communication disorders such as autism, cerebral palsy, Down syndrome, speech delay and medical fragility.  The Lab provides an ideal learning environment for undergraduate and graduate students studying the physical and cognitive aspects of child development.


Phi Kappa Phi Emerging Scholar Award – Kathy Gunter
Assistant Professor, Nutrition and Exercise Sciences
OSU Extension Specialist, Community and Family Health

Granted by the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, this award honors tenure track faculty in the early stages of their professional careers, recognizing outstanding research or creative activity in their field of study. Kathy was acknowledged for her pioneering research on bone health in children and establishing an intervention to prevent osteoporosis in later life as well as the development of a Better Bones and Balance course for adults.  Kathy has trained more than 150 instructors who now teach her BBB course across Oregon, Washington, and California. 


OSU Student Learning and Success Teamwork Award – College of Health and Human Sciences LINC Team pictured below: Top row L-R Kim Hannigan-Downs, Kim McAlexander, Alexis Walker, Stephanie Bernell Tony Wilcox, Anne Hatley, Ingrid Skoog.  Middle row L-R Marc Braverman, Leslie Richards, Rick Settersten, Mary Pedersen.  Bottom row L-R Brandi Hall, Kate MacTavish, Jeff McCubbin, Pat Newport, Liz Gray, Kathryn Burton, Carol Caughey)

The LINC (Learning in Communities) Team was honored for the success of  LINC Learn, a new student engagement program comprised of small-group one-credit seminar courses for first-year students.  Student evaluations of the program found that LINC participation led to higher levels of collaborative learning activities, participation in campus events and organizations, networking with other students, and academic planning. Students especially valued developing relationships with faculty and peers, learning about academic resources, having a welcoming and informal environment, and developing a professional identity related to their major.LinC | Learning in Communities