Oregon State University logo

College announces 2013 award winners

Every year, the College of Public Health and Human Sciences honors its outstanding faculty and staff by recognizing them for their achievements at the all-college fall meeting. This year, eight CPHHS faculty members were awarded for their hard work and dedication to ensuring lifelong health and well-being for every person, every family and every community in Oregon and beyond. In addition, the college recognized Leslie Richards, who received the 2013 International Service Award during University Day. Please join us in congratulating Emily Ho, Urszula Iwaniec, Sally Bowman, Deanne Hudson, Marie Harvey, Mark Hoffman, Sheryl Thorburn, JoAnne Bunnage and Leslie Richards.

Also at the 2013 all-college meeting, Dean Tammy Bray reviewed the college’s accomplishments over the past year (see the College Annual Report), set the stage for next year, introduced more than 20 new faculty and highlighted the college’s continual efforts to becoming the first and only accredited college of public health and human sciences in Oregon.

2013 Faculty Excellence Awardcphhs-college-award-emily-ho

Presented to Emily Ho

In recognition of her exemplary work ethic, enthusiasm and commitment to scientific research, teaching and outreach; for her outstanding mentorship to all students; for being a role model for future nutrition scientists; for establishing productive research collaborations; for propelling nutrition research; and for leading the Moore Family Center to a bright, productive and healthy future.

“I firmly believe that Dr. Emily Ho exemplifies the high standards of scholarship and the dedication to teaching recognized and honored by the college’s Faculty Excellence Award,” says nominator Tony Wilcox. “We are very fortunate to have her on the faculty of OSU and as a member of our college, school and Nutrition program.”

2013 Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring Award


Presented to Urszula Iwaniec

In recognition of being a successful, creative and rigorous mentor for students; for creating a supportive environment in her lab; for providing opportunities for students to make important contributions to cutting-edge research; for warranting authorship for students on peer-reviewed publications; and for her commitment to excellence and genuine interest in students’ success and development both personally and professionally.

“Dr. Iwaniec has an amazing gift for and an extraordinary commitment to mentoring undergraduate students,” says nominators Marie Harvey and Mark Hoffman. “She has demonstrated excellence in mentoring not only by the number of students she has mentored, but also by the quality of her mentoring and the impact she has made on the lives of these students.”

2013 Excellence in Outreach Award


Presented to Sally Bowman

In recognition of her exceptional contributions to the college’s outreach and engagement mission; for developing, delivering and evaluating innovative curricula for vulnerable populations; for creating evidence-based programming that leads to behavior change and community impact through interventions; for establishing Oregon’s SNAP-Ed Program as one of the premier models for other states; for expanding collaborations and relationships with organizations across Oregon; and for promoting lifelong health and well-being for every person, family and community.

“Dr. Bowman has made exceptional contributions to our college’s outreach and engagement mission over many years, through a remarkable array of creative and effective pathways,” says nominator Marc Braverman. “She is richly deserving of this important honor from our college.”

2013 Professional Faculty and Staff Excellence Award


Presented to Deanne Hudson

For her dedication, professionalism and commitment to the success of the college; for resolving issues and being an essential part of submitting faculty grant applications; for going above and beyond the requirements to submit grants; for ensuring all documentation and budgets are cohesive and sound; and for always doing so with a calming presence and smile on her face.

“Deanne provides outstanding service to members of the college, and it is absolutely a pleasure to work with her,” says nominator Michelle Odden. “She is highly deserving of this award.”

2013 Dean’s Unsung Hero Award

Presented to JoAnne Bunnage, Marie Harvey, Mark Hoffman and Sheryl Thorburn


In recognition of their role on the OCAT Team and for their dedication, hard work, enthusiasm and motivation to ensure the College of Public Health and Human Sciences successfully becomes the first accredited college of public health and human sciences in Oregon; for countless hours of drafting and perfecting the CEPH Self-Study; for working with faculty across the college to ensure the accreditation process runs smoothly; and for working productively as a team.

“I am extremely proud of the OCAT Team for all of the hard work they put into ensuring the entire accreditation process goes smoothly,” says nominator Dean Tammy Bray. “Their efforts have helped push our college to the forefront of becoming an preeminent college of public health and human sciences.”