Oregon State University logo

Getting to know: Pati Craven

Administrative Program Assistant, Extension 4-H Youth Development, Family and Community Health

Pati-Craven-header

College of Public Health and Human Sciences’ Administrative Program Assistant for Extension 4-H Youth Development, Family and Community Health Pati Craven came to the 4-H Program in 2000 after working for 22 years in the textbook department and as the children’s book specialist at the OSU Bookstore. She previously worked at CH2M Hill as a reprographic technician. She attended the Oregon College of Education, now Western Oregon University, majoring in Science/Chemistry.


What does your job as administrative program assistant for Extension 4-H Youth Development entail?

“For the last 15 years, I have provided administrative support for the 4-H state team and for the last three years the Family and Community Health state team, too. I answer Extension Ask an Expert questions, provide support for county 4-H faculty and staff, and field phone and email questions from the public. It is a very busy job doing a huge range of tasks.”

Why did you choose to work at Oregon State in the CPHHS/What made you decide to get into this field?

“I was enrolled in a 4-H dog club as a child and served as a 4-H horse club leader as a young adult. I had gained skills in previous positions in database management, word processing and graphics, and those skills have come in quite handy here. I love the campus atmosphere and energy of being around students.”Pati-Craven-Synergies

What do you enjoy most about your job?

“Definitely the people. I work with very interesting and talented people.”

What is the best advice you ever received, and who gave it?

“Maybe this doesn’t count as advice per say, but I learned about work ethic from my dad’s example. He has always worked hard and strives for the best he can do.”

What advice would you like to give to students and young alums?

“It’s good to find a job that gives you the feeling that what you do matters, that you made a difference for someone today.”

What is one surprising thing about you that not many people know?

“I am a native Corvallis-ite. I moved to Corvallis when I was 3 months old, attended school here and returned to raise my daughter here. Corvallis has changed a lot over the last 58 years.”

What are your favorite activities outside of work?

“I love reading, gardening, watching OSU sports, camping, doing crafts and home improvement projects – including watching those great HGTV shows – and train and compete in dog agility with my Corgis.”