CPHHS sweeps Breaking Barriers awards night

The OSU President’s Commission on the Status of Women (PCOSW) held its annual Breaking Barriers awards night on April 22. Three of the four awards this year went to CPHHS faculty and alumni:

  • Adejoke Babatunde Omolayo (SNAP Ed/Extension) received the Harriet “Hattie” Redmond award for her work to help black women overcome barriers to being physically active.
  • MPH alumna Sandy Goeke received the PCOSW Community Builder award for her seven+ years of service organizing and facilitating the International Moms Group, a weekly social support and peer education group for international student parents or spouses.
  • Marit Bovbjerg, epidemiology, along with Melissa Cheyney and Holly Horan (OSU Anthropology), received the Breaking Barriers in Research award for their Community Doula Project, which preliminary results suggest has lowered the rate of unnecessary cesareans among low-income, socially high-risk pregnant women in Linn, Benton and Lincoln Counties by half.