Features Kinesiology Research

CPHHS professor joins distinguished group of Oregon scientists

Professor Brad Cardinal was recently recognized by the Oregon Academy of Science with its Outstanding Oregon Scientist Award.

Photo of Brad Cardinal

By Staff

Professor Brad Cardinal was recently recognized by the Oregon Academy of Science with its Outstanding Oregon Scientist Award. Brad was honored for his “considerable contributions to the fields of exercise psychology and kinesiology and exercise science while at Oregon State University.”

The award was first granted in 1949. Brad joined the CPHHS in 1997 and is the first CPHHS faculty member to receive the honor. He is the fifth OSU scientist to be recognized, including Linus Pauling, who received the award in 1987. 

Brad currently serves as past-president of the National Academy of Kinesiology and chair of the President’s Council on Sports, Fitness and Nutrition Science Board.

A prolific scholar, he has published more than a dozen books and chapters and 250 peer-reviewed journal articles. He’s delivered 350 presentations at the state, regional, national and international levels.

Oregon State University recognized him in 2017 with its OSU Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award and in 2009 with their Elizabeth P. Ritchie Distinguished Professor Award.

The Outstanding Oregon Scientist Award was first granted in 1949. Three awards were given that year. Earl L. Packard, who served as founding dean of the College of Science at Oregon State University, was one of the original three recipients.

In the 21st century, 22 scientists from eight different agencies or institutions in Oregon have been recognized with the award. In addition to Brad, others from Oregon State include Mas Subramanian, distinguished professor and Milton-Harris Professor of Materials Science, College of Science (2016); Vincent T. Remcho, professor and Patricia Valian Reser Faculty Scholar, College of Science (2015); Philip Mote, vice provost and dean of the Graduate School, and professor, College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences (2011); and James D. White, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, College of Science (2006).

The other institutions with more than one recipient since 2000 include the University of Oregon (six), Portland State University (five), and Oregon Health & Sciences University (three).

Linus C. Pauling, an alumnus of Oregon State University and two-time Nobel Prize winner – 1954 (Chemistry) and 1962 (Peace) – received the Outstanding Oregon Scientist Award in 1987. The Linus Pauling Science Center opened on OSU’s Corvallis campus in 2011. Other past recipients such as Willibald Weniger, Physics (1954); W. E. Milne, Math (1955); and Earl Gilbert, Chemistry (1962), also have campus buildings named in their honor (i.e., Weniger Hall, Milne Computer Center and Gilbert Hall, respectively).

The Honorable Jane Lubchenco was the 1994 recipient. She served as Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and the Administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration during President Obama’s administration. Currently, she is a university Distinguished Professor, the Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology, and the Marine Studies Advisor to the President of Oregon State University.